Amami archipelago

The Amami group of islands is located between the Tokara archipelago and Okinawa Islands that dot the seas of southern Japan. Amami Oshima (which includes Kakeromajima, Yorojima and Ukejima), Kikaijima, Tokunoshima, Okinoerabujima and Yoronjima make up the 8 inhabited islands that are home to 1 city, 9 towns and 2 villages with a total population of about 104,000. Amami Oshima is the largest of the islands.
The archipelago was registered to the UNESCO World Natural Heritage in July 2021 for the Amami Rabbit and scores of other endemic animals and plants that have continued to survive in the environments of Amami Oshima and Tokunoshima since primeval times.